top of page
Keqing Wang

Homework 4.2 Watches some useful videos


I spent time watching some of the videos recommended by my teacher.


First of all, I watched the Elements of Design series

In the first part of this series, the video focused on the design elements of shape and line. In the section on lines, I got to learn about the concepts of vertical-horizontal lines, diagonal lines and curves. On the other hand, shapes can be divided into categories of symmetry and asymmetry.


After this, Design Elements 2 introduced me to Texture, pattern and colour. From the video, I learnt that Texture affects our perception of colour, which can be rough, smooth, spiny and soft. Pattern, on the other hand, can make a smooth surface look more textured and is used to enhance the visual effect. With regard to colour, it is the colour that has the most direct and profound effect on the visual effect. Colours are divided into cool and warm colours, and their use in different areas can enhance the quality of life of people.












Next, the second video talks about the concepts of line, shape, figure, texture and balance.Unlike before, this video presents some concepts about balance and some compositional methods that bring about more visual balance.



Finally, I read this information from the Courtesy Rochester Institute of Design.

This content made me understand more about the importance of design thinking and I started to understand the significance of the blacksquares assignment.

Comments


bottom of page